Changes proposed to Vava‘u electorate boundaries

Vava’u electorates will receive a new general electorate change, while 15 other electorates across Tonga remain unchanged.  

Tonga’s electorates have 17 altogether in which10 constituencies are on the mainland Tongatapu, one in Eua, two in Ha’apai, three in Vava’u and one for the Niuas.

The Tonga Electoral Boundaries Commission released its proposed Vava'u electoral boundary changes this week.

The village of Utui in Vava’u could now move from Vava’u 15 to Vava’u 16 electorate, says a statement released from The Electoral Boundaries Commissioners office.

The proposed names, outline maps and official boundary data of the re-determined electoral constituencies are published in the Electoral Boundaries Commission – Proposed Boundaries Report 2013, the statement says.  

Currently Vava’u 15 has six constituencies and they are Neiafu, Fungamisi, Falaleu, Makave, Toula and ‘Utui.

Vava’u 16 has Ha’alaufuli, Ta’anea, Ha’akio, Houma, Mangia, Mataika, Feletoa, Leimatu’a, Tu’anekivale and Holonga.

Tonga will hold its second General Election under its new system of government in November 2014. 

Sometimes when a business is growing, it needs a little help.

Right now Kaniva News provides a free, politically independent, bilingual news service for readers around the world that is absolutely unique. We are the largest New Zealand-based Tongan news service, and our stories reach Tongans  wherever they are round the world. But as we grow, there are increased demands on Kaniva News for translation into Tongan on our social media accounts and for the costs associated with expansion. We believe it is important for Tongans to have their own voice and for Tongans to preserve their language, customs and heritage. That is something to which we are strongly committed. That’s why we are asking you to consider sponsoring our work and helping to preserve a uniquely Tongan point of view for our readers and listeners.


Latest news

Related news